How To Write When You’re Exhausted

The idea for this post came to me because right now the last thing I want to do is write. Spent my first day in New York and I spent it in platforms which though preferable to walking in heels is still nowhere as comfy as flats or trainers which is what you should really be wearing when exploring those New York blocks.

Because of my ridiculous day in unrealistic shoes I am now cranky, I can’t work up the energy to change to jammies and I really really don’t feel like posting. But it’s not the first time I have felt like this and it won’t be the last; if I gave in all the time, I’d never write.

So here are a couple of tips for fighting the sandman and writing:

1) Drink water – There is nothing like water for refreshing the body.

2) Talk to yourself – Become the character you are writing about or simply mumble encouraging words to yourself.

3) Have a look at images to inspire and energize you

4) Play music with a catchy and loud beat – Who knows the song may become part of your story’s soundtrack.

5) Write only what you are excited about – If the topic you are writing on is dreary or doesn’t give you goosebumps, it’s best you do it in the morning.

6) Start from the middle – It’s easiest if you are not starting the work from scratch or writing something that will use up too much brain power

7) Threaten yourself

8) Promise yourself rewards if you reach a certain word count or some other kind of goal.

9) Have someone stay up with you

10) Pray – a little prayer for strength will gave you that extra energy boost.

Keep writing!

7 thoughts on “How To Write When You’re Exhausted

  1. I feel you here! Sometimes I get home from work and even when I’m excited to get the rest of my story on the page… I’m just too tired to get motivated. I’m definitely going to utilize some of these when I’m feeling drowsy!

      • Right? This past winter (I work retail) I went two full months without touching my computer. I was a bum. I didn’t read, I didn’t write… heck, I feel like I didn’t even think those few months. It was awful.

      • Sigh. Most days writing feels like something I should do after I’ve watched that movie, read that book, cleaned my room, eaten, made those phone calls etc at which point writing is the last thing I want to do. I’m queen of procrastinating!

      • I swear we’re twins. Procrastinate is all I did today. Heck, I’m still doing it! But I did finish the chapter I was struggling with! So… yay for small victories!

      • Lmao! Heck i think I’m procrastinating right now by chatting with you! I should really be writing chapter three… Congratulations on your completed chapter!

Leave a Reply

