Prompted: Discovering Magic

prompted-buttonI finally caught one of Tipsy Lit’s writing prompts BEFORE it was too late!

However in my eagerness to participate I may have lost the plot/prompt a bit but I am hoping there is room for flexibility 🙂

Check out the Tipsy Lit writing prompts, guidelines and rewards – http://tipsylit.com

The prompt for this week is: Your character finds a magical object.

“People come up to me and they say ‘Hey why don’t you stick a knife in your gut, we want to see!’ and I say ‘Sure! I will, if you will.’ They usually walk away after that.”

“And how does that make you feel.”

“How do you think it makes me feel?” I look away from Mrs Garter, away from her ice blue eyes and straw like hair. She really is no different from the other therapists, prettier perhaps, but otherwise pretty much the same. Instead I look out of the window at the streets filled with normal people and imagine what it’s like being, you know, normal.

I feel her leaning forwards on her chair and I glance back at her. Her eyes sparkle. She brings her palms together and then to her lips momentarily

“Would you give it up if you could?”

“What?”

“If you could give away your power…”

“It’s not a power, it’s just…”

“Ok. If you could give away your gift, would you?” I want to tell her it’s not a gift either, but instead I consider her words.

“Why think about something that could never happen?”

“What if someone had a sort of instrument that could take away your power?” Well this is different…I look at her eyes again. They are wide and her pupils have widened. She looks…hungry.

“Are we still speaking hypothetically?” she stands up abruptly and walks over to her desk. She opens a drawer with the key that hangs around her neck and brings out a little steel box. She walks over to me.

“This is your freedom. You can be like every other human. You can live, you can die. The same as everyone else.”

“I think I should go.”

“I thought you wanted to be normal. All you do is whine and whine and whine. This power should belong to someone who can appreciate it! Who can use it! With this, I can take the power from you and transfer it to someone else!” I am backing away towards the door now. Who is this crazy woman? I am not afraid of her. There is nothing she can do to me, but I am afraid of the box. She is opening it now and bringing out IVs and injections. She seems to take for granted that I’ll stay but when I try to open the door, it resists.

The blood rushes to my head.

“It’s alright. It will all be over soon.” I run towards the window and take a leap of faith.

11 thoughts on “Prompted: Discovering Magic

  1. I couldn’t help but think of X-Men when I was reading your story! I have so many questions!

    1. If it’s not a power or a gift then what is it!? Is the character human?

    2. Seeing how the character leaps out the window, does the character have the ability to fly?

    “She looks…hungry.”
    It is such a distressing truth to know that humanity is sickly desperate for power. At the same time however, I am so thankful that we are all equal and limitless in power.

    Have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

    • Hmmm…I didn’t notice, but now that you point it out, perhaps I have been watching too much Xmen!

      1. The character considers it more of a curse but I suppose it is a supernatural ability.

      2. She cant fly. She doesnt wound though I.e. a knife would cause her no harm. But jumping out of the window would be her greatest test of her ability.

      As for power, I cant lie, I’d be delighted to have an ability no-one else had!

      Have a great weekend too!

      • Thanks for your response! Okay! , so now I’m thinking of Claire Bennet from the TV show Heroes! She had a similar ability. In a make-believe world, I wouldn’t mind having an ability either; I’m very much obsessed with Mystique’s ability to shapeshift. 🙂

  2. I want to read more he he like Claudia it is like wow what else can he/she do? And who is this therapist, why she so hungry for power? Or does she really want to help? Oh the plot thickens.
    I loved this.

  3. Pingback: Polling Prompted: Discovering Magic | Tipsy Lit
  4. Pingback: Discovering Magic – A TipsyLit Prompt | Writing in whispers
  5. Pingback: Discovering Magic – A TipsyLit Prompt | Qamina

Leave a Reply

