32,000 words and sweating…

It’s getting close to the final date. And I’m only 32,000 words in.

The worry is starting to set in, and the doubt. Can I do it?

I failed to write a post noting the start of my Nanowrimo journey on the 1st November (actually started poorly – with only 400 words); but I did start and now it is crunch time.

In order to make the goal of 50,000 words I have to write 18,000 words in five days. That’s 3,600 words a day. That is no small feat.

But if the last few months have taught me anything it is that:

  • I can do alllll things through Christ
  • 3,600 words ain’t nothing if you have the right amount of desperation; and I’ve sooooo got that. There is noooo way I am failing another Nanowrimo.

How do I plan to do it?

I have come to realize that 500 words is fairly easy for me to write. 1000 words is on a medium level. Anything after that feels like that point during your jogging stretch that your muscles begin to cry out. So I will be breaking my 3600 words to bites of 600 during the course of the day. I’ll write 600 words now and maybe another 600 in an hour or two. If the words are really flowing I’ll continue to 1,000 but no further.

What surprises me and makes the task slightly easier is that I actually still like my story; I’m still engaged. I don’t want to cut myself so I never write again. I also recognize that the story won’t be over at 50,000 words and this doesn’t freak me out (at least not much).

So I congratulate myself in advance for making it – 50000 words in 30 days.

2 thoughts on “32,000 words and sweating…

Leave a Reply

